Happy Halloween

My favorite costume from childhood has to be a vampire. Only because that is the ONLY thing I ever wanted to dress up as for Halloween since I could walk… so my mom tells me. In my younger glory days she always tried to dress me up as Cinderella or Snow White but I was not having that. Fangs and blood were more my style. Let’s just say I have perfected the vampire costume and cannot wait for tomorrow night!

I think the idea of supplying templates for fans to use when carving pumpkins is genius. Any act of promoting school spirit is hoped for because you always want that buzz to continue and to spread throughout the community. This act in particular is seasonal, festive, creative, and social so you can’t go wrong. College students go all out celebrating Halloween and carving pumpkins has been a tradition ever since I can remember. From a public relations point of view, I think it is solely a proactive way to remain in the forefront of the community’s mind. These students will use the stencils and carve their pumpkins not only for their neighbors to see but everybody knows they will immediately take pictures of their “art work” and share them on social media for the world to see.

Depending on the logos other companies use for their stencil ideas, I think it has a lot of potential to be a success. I see major brand names such as Red Bull, Coke, and Monster being able to successfully create a stencil original enough for their customer base to want to carve it into a pumpkin. I can’t see fast food companies being as successful, but you never know! I know there are some dedicated McDonalds and Taco Bell fans out there.

Leave a comment